sillycybe
Aug 03 2006, 10:02 AM
Here�s the story:

Players A, B and C end the tournament tied for 1st in their division and a playoff is called for. Player C gets a 4 on the first hole and wins 3rd place while Players A and B move on after getting a 3 on the hole. Player B gets a 4 on the next hole and wins 2nd place while Player A wins 1st place after taking a 3 on the hole.

Here�s the problem:

After holing out the last hole of round 1, Player B calls out for the scores and everyone took a 4 on the hole. While walking back to tournament central, Player B is adding the scores to hand in the card. Player A states that he in fact took a 5 on the last hole. Player B being busy tallying the scores and forgot to correct this. That one stroke missed on Player A�s score is what caused there to be a 3 way tie for first place, when in fact it should has been just Player B and C in that playoff.

What should be done at this point? Should player B just accept the 2nd place spot and be OK with that? Or should the actual score for Player A be recorded along with 2 penalty strokes for turning in a wrong score and receive the 3rd place win and move Player C to 2nd place? This could affect the ratings of Players B and C who are PDGA members. Player A is not a member of the PDGA.

This would change the recorded scores of A 1st place, B 2nd place and C 3rd place to B 1st place, C 2nd place and A 3rd place.

Alacrity
Aug 03 2006, 10:29 AM
Always refer to the rule book, when in question. By turning in an incorrect score, Player A should have the score corrected and take a 2 stroke penality putting the player in third place. Since the round was effectively over for Player A, this player cannot be charged with practice throw penalities.


Here�s the story:

Players A, B and C end the tournament tied for 1st in their division and a playoff is called for. Player C gets a 4 on the first hole and wins 3rd place while Players A and B move on after getting a 3 on the hole. Player B gets a 4 on the next hole and wins 2nd place while Player A wins 1st place after taking a 3 on the hole.

Here�s the problem:

After holing out the last hole of round 1, Player B calls out for the scores and everyone took a 4 on the hole. While walking back to tournament central, Player B is adding the scores to hand in the card. Player A states that he in fact took a 5 on the last hole. Player B being busy tallying the scores and forgot to correct this. That one stroke missed on Player A�s score is what caused there to be a 3 way tie for first place, when in fact it should has been just Player B and C in that playoff.

What should be done at this point? Should player B just accept the 2nd place spot and be OK with that? Or should the actual score for Player A be recorded along with 2 penalty strokes for turning in a wrong score and receive the 3rd place win and move Player C to 2nd place? This could affect the ratings of Players B and C who are PDGA members. Player A is not a member of the PDGA.

This would change the recorded scores of A 1st place, B 2nd place and C 3rd place to B 1st place, C 2nd place and A 3rd place.

bruce_brakel
Aug 03 2006, 10:35 AM
I think the rules say that once prizes are awarded the tournament is officially over and it is too late to be correcting scores.

sillycybe
Aug 03 2006, 10:41 AM
Unfortunately the scoring issue was discovered after the tournament (actually the following day) while we were putting together the TD report for the PDGA

I think rule 804.03 G(1) does apply and the scores should stand.

Alacrity
Aug 03 2006, 11:35 AM
Never mind. I miss understood the timing. Bruce is correct.


Unfortunately the scoring issue was discovered after the tournament (actually the following day) while we were putting together the TD report for the PDGA

I think rule 804.03 G(1) does apply and the scores should stand.

Aug 04 2006, 12:57 AM
Bruce is correct.



It happens often...it's what I hate most about him! :eek:

sillycybe
Mar 16 2007, 12:14 PM
OK...here's another Tournament Scoring question...

After the 2nd round, a card was not handed in for a group, which should've gotten all on the card a 2 stroke penalty, but the "actual" scores were posted and added. They were then uploaded to the PDGA.

Email were sent out about 2 weeks later stating that the scores will be adjusted with the 2 penalty strokes.

According to what Bruce said earlier "I think the rules say that once prizes are awarded the tournament is officially over and it is too late to be correcting scores.", can and should the scores be changed now? 2 weeks after the tournament?

Here's the rule in question

804.03G

(1) Penalty throws may be assessed at
whatever time the infraction is discovered
until the director declares the tournament
officially over <font color="red">or all awards have been
distributed.</font>

In this case, all prizes/awards had been distributed. So, wouldn't this tournament be declared done?

lonhart
Mar 16 2007, 06:44 PM
804.03G
"(1) Penalty throws may be assessed at whatever time the infraction is discovered until the director declares the tournament officially over or all awards have been distributed."

What is the timing of the two conditions above? It seems like the TD should have the authority to declare the tournament over, whether or not all awards have been distributed. For example, if the TD mails a check to a Pro that left prior to the awards ceremony, but does not do it for a month (and hence no distribution of that award), is the tournament still "on"? And thus can the TD alter scores during that interval should something come up? Or is it sufficient that the TD made an attempt to award the check, but the Pro was absent (i.e. this counts as "distribution")?

Cheers,
Steve